Skip to content

The Man in the Mirror

March 24, 2008
tags:
by
img_2484.jpg
I loved the 80s. But then again I was going through an emotional high otherwise known as puberty. I had a cornucopia of Bop tearouts on my bedroom wall, like the one of Madonna with her hairy armpit. I wore hot pink stirrup pants almost every day, and my favorite movie was The Outsiders. An 80s song came to me tonight that I hadn’t heard for a while, “The Man in the Mirror.” I like it because I like direct messages. “As I turn up the collar on my favorite winter coat, this wind is blowin’ my mind. I see the kids in the street, with not enough to eat. Who am I to be blind?”
When Korinne and I started planning Olio, our eyes were opened to the ugly realities of the fashion industry. When we asked clothing representatives where and how the clothing was made, we were surprised to find that many could not give a detailed and convincing answer. When we told others in the industry that we cared about sustainability, we would get responses like “Cute!” Cute is not a word to describe a top that was sewn by an underaged worker in a factory overseas that is grossly overworked and underpaid. Cute is not hot jeans that takes 2/3 of a pound of pesticides to make it.
It’s not easy to make a change. We know. Maybe it takes one good listening of Michael Jackson’s song. Twenty years later it still rings a bell with me. . .

BTW, stirrup pants are back.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

